Press Release and callout This Monday Sueing Cops, Crown Khalid For 4 million

22 Jun

For immediate release

Wrongfully charged for organizing G20 violence, Community Activist Julian Ichim is bringing a 4 million dollar lawsuit against the Toronto Police Services Board, The Provincial Crown and Constable Bindo Showan for false imprisonment, assault and battery, misuse of public office, and breaches of section 2, 7, 8, 9, 10(b) and 12 of the Charter. On Monday June 25th 2012 at11:30 am 40 Collage St. Toronto Toronto Police Services Julian Ichim will be serving the Toronto Police with his lawsuit.

During the G20 Ichim was arrested, beaten, and denied many basic rights as a result of his political views. Julian Ichim, a life long community activist, was part of a year and a half long investigation before the G20 which included infiltration of community based organizations by undercover RCMP and OPP agents. He was arrested at the G20 for conspiracy and later charged with counseling to commit indictable offenses. Charges against Ichim have since been withdrawn.

While on bail for these charges, Ichim was forced to live under bail conditions aimed to stop him from participating in political activities and since his charges have been dropped people many community activists were given non association with Ichim, despite the fact that he was facing no charges.

When trying to tell his side of the story on his blog http://www.julianichim.wordpress.com he was charged with three counts of disobey court order and is currently looking at jail time for this as the crown has chosen to proceed with these charges as indictable offences, another attempt to intimidate activists from speaking out or organizing. His preliminary hearing is Sept. 18th.

Ichim feels that the criminalization of community organizing through the practice of targeting outspoken individuals by police has a negative impact on the community as a whole and works to undermine the political process in our society.

Ichim feels that if police continue this practice, there will be a chilling effect on those who have dissenting views as they will be afraid to express their opinions thereby undermining watchdog groups and others that play the role of keeping government accountable.

Ichim states “This lawsuit is not about me or the money, it’s about the fact that people in this country are criminalized and brutalized simply for their political beliefs. If they can do this to me today, they can target anyone tomorrow.”

Ichim states that if he wins, the majority of this money will go to finance and support community projects that empower residents and to help others who are facing similar G20 related charges.
For more info please call Gloria Ichim Student at Law with Denis Grigoras Law 519-988-5544

 

Below is a repost of the callout for court support

Make The State Pay, Call For Court Support for Sueing Cops, undercover and Crown

13 Jun

Press Conference then we serve the the cops
June 25th 11:30 am
40 College Street Toronto,
Toronto Police Services

On June 25th at 11:30 am I will be serving my lawsuit to Toronto Police for the harassment and damages I have suffered from the undercover investigation, my arrest, beating and treatment due to my involvement in organizing protest to the G20 Summit in June 2010.

As stated before the purpose of this lawsuit is to highlight the criminalization of political people such as myself as well expose the violence of the state.

Named in this lawsuit will be the undercover agent who went by the name Khalid Mohammed whose irresponsible actions have caused serious damage to myself as well as other activists.

The state has criminalized me and targeted me because of my Marxist Leninist ideology. As a result of this I was charged on bogus charges and forced to live under conditions aimed at stopping me from organizing. These conditions and the stress have caused sever damage to me and my relationships, particularly to my dying mom whose last thoughts were about me finding another surety so I dont go back to jail.

Despite all this shit that I have suffered due to my politics, instead of doing anything to remedy this situation, the state has attacked me and criminalized me simply for trying to tell my side of the story on my blog charging me with inditable offences simply for words that I have written.

From this it is clear that the state does not want the truth of there dirty tricks to come out and the fact that they are still proceeding with these inditable charges aimed at throwing me in jail for awhile only shows that they will go to any lengths to silence the truth about there dirty tricks aimed at demobilizing people who are organized.

THIS SHALL NOT BE!!!!!!

By filing this lawsuit I hope to shed light on the truth what the state has done to crush legitimate opposition and what they are still doing.

Join me on June 25th and lets show them that we will not be silenced nor intimidated.

Victory Belongs To The People!!!

 

One Response to “Press Release and callout This Monday Sueing Cops, Crown Khalid For 4 million”

  1. manuelgokd June 24, 2012 at 11:40 pm #

    Reblogged this on manuelgokd and commented:
    Lots of criminals were at the G20. They were the ones in blue or black in the riot gear with the guns. You may not have recognized them, because they tookk off their name tags.

Leave a Reply

