Prison call, phone still wont ring

4 Dec

Today is Tuesday, the day i wait by the phone for friends in jail to call. Several days ago i got a call from a friend, to say he was doing shitty is definatly an understatement, I promised that I would try to visit him. To do this i must get on his visiting list, the problem is i have a criminal record, and due to the states policy of priminalizing dissent, given the fact that I am a political organizor, my politics fall under the guns and gangs unit of which Miller the peace of shit is the prosecutor. Not to give my friend false hope I said that I would probably not get on the list but will send him some canteen money for Christmas so he can buy some basic nessesittys at an overpriced rate.

Several other of my friends are in, as political prisoners, targetted by the state for the crime of organizing and being poor. Given the fact that they were not arressted at the g20 and come from bad nieghbourhoods, its very easy for them not to apear on any prisoner support list leaving it up to a handfull of us to support them. Given class war prisoners are also people we support, our hands are usually full.

I remember when one of my friends got out, who spent quite a bit of time in the hole, we got a 40 of liquor to celebrate after about seven drinks, he was still sitting quitely in tthe corner muttering to himself, in fear of God knows what.

When the phone doesnt ring, it could be that they cant get to the phone, or that they are on lock up, or that they got sent to the hole. As I wait for the phone to ring i start washing dishes, something i never do, to keep my mind occupied, the dishes are done, I start doing laundry, going on Facebook, smoking and then lighting another ciggerrette off the onne i just finished, i make another pot of coffee spilling half on the floor, start cleaning the floor but the phone still does not ring. Its 2:00 oclock now, they should be on range. 2’30, 3:00, yet the phone still doesnt ring.

I hate the feeling of being helpless knowing your friends are going through hard times but being able to do nothing about it. i think about how sadistic one has to be to lock a human in a cage, in overcrowded conditions, controling every aspect of someones life, having so much power over another human. I am convinced that it takes a very “special”person to be a screw, the type of person devoid of all humanity, who relishes caging human souls and dreams.

The phone just rang, one of my friends called, he wants me to mail him a book, hes telling me how since hes gone in no one has visited him and friends have stopped taking his call hes in for quite a bit longer, i sound confident, crack jokes, dont make any promises i cant keep, tell him to call me next tuesday.

I go outside , light a ciggerrette, and remember a book I read along time ago called a tale of two cities, im speciffically thinking about the part where the wimmin who are victims of the ruling class are quitely sowing, and when the revolution is in full swing they take the sweaters and start reading the names of the enemies of the people, who are lead to the guilotine, i take another puff of smoke and tell myself, history has a way of reapeating itself

5 Responses to “Prison call, phone still wont ring”

  1. leanne flynn December 4, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

    Thank you for writing about this, Robbie. I don’t know what happened to my phone. But I will try to get to the police station tomorrow to see if it’s there. I would love to learn more about how I can support people in prisons. And as my time in Owen Sound, Ontario the past two years have proven, people in hospital in Ontario, and in our long term health care facilities are also doing hard time in many ways. I did not know that conditions were so severe. I am going to request more information from Correctional Service Canada about prison conditions, and review the information that I have already. I bought some office supplies today and I am starting files on some of the extreme situations in Canadian prisons and hospitals, especially the past two years. It looks to me like Vic Toews is a man who intends to continue improving prison conditions in Canada. Double sized rooms, smaller locations and more education and communication opportunities seem to thinsg that we can campaign for that will make very great improvements. I don’t know if you are aware of Peter MacKay’s campaigns of 2010, which he canvassed for public input and support on but one was the situations of POWs and the other was incorporating aboriginal Canadian justice systems into our current justice system. Aboriginal justice is restorative, not punitive, and involves much more focus on healing. His ideas were great, and terrorist activity has really prevented communication about those ideas, and likely prevented people from showing the support that they would have otherwise for changes in justice systems and conditions for POWs. I wish I had a screenshot saved of his website in 2010 so I could show you that. I was considering a teaching job at Grand Valley before Ashley Smith died there, and my health got worse. The phone calls are important to help with derealization that can happen in confined space and segregation. Larger rooms and learning opportunities of different kinds would also really help. Thanks again for writing.

  2. leanne flynn December 4, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

    I also have a criminal record and did not know that I was not allowed to visit in prisons! Do you know where I can get a copy of visiting and phone call rules? Thanks.

  3. doug December 4, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

    Gotta love how you guys whine about doing time in prison.These people are in jail because of crimes they have committed , they were not just plucked off the street and” locked in a cage” for being poor or organizing.They are criminals…..plain and simple and are where they belong.

    • Dee December 4, 2012 at 11:48 pm #

      You poor misguided wretch. These people in fact were just plucked off the street and tossed in a cage.l. Their crime was talking about how to end the state (organizing) , they went to jail because they could not buy their way out with fines or a good attorney. Therefore they are in jail for a) organizing and b) being poor.
      I remember when I thought only criminals went to jail, ignorance was bliss.

  4. Al December 4, 2012 at 10:43 pm #

    The law in all its majesty will equally throw a rich man in jail just as a poor man for stealing a loaf of bread.

Leave a Reply

