This Era Gives Birth to A New Heart

2 Jan

This is By Cuban poet and Singer Silvio Rodrigez, and has as much meaning today as when he wrote it!!!!

I’ve come to ask

My old shadow, to see how I am

Just to be happy, but then the sorrow

With its temple voice, breaks into the room

Shedding its hours

My shadow tells me, that to be happy

Is to see all sorrows, as my own sorrow

Then I fell silent, in desperation

But then I listen, the land cries out

The era is giving birth to a new heart

Can’t take any more, it’s dying of pain

And we have to run and hurry ‘cause the future is falling

For any forest in the world, on any street

Must leave the comfort of home and the couch

The earth lives as long as the sun dies out

And we’ll have to burn down the sky if we have to, just to live

Must leave the comfort of home and the couch

The earth lives as long as the sun dies out

And we’ll have to burn down the sky if we have to, just to live

For any person in the world, for any home

One Response to “This Era Gives Birth to A New Heart”

  1. Karena Syktich January 9, 2013 at 3:13 pm #

    You are so interesting! I do not believe I have read through a single thing like this before. So great to find another person with some genuine thoughts on this subject. Seriously.. many thanks for starting this up. This site is something that is required on the web, someone with a bit of originality!

Leave a Reply

