Rally for an increase in minimum wage was a success!!!!

15 Aug

Yestreday we joined Poverty Makes Us Sick and Workers Action Centre in front of Tim Hortons to demand an increase in minimum wage. Tim Hortons plus Mc Donalds, Wal Mart and several other exploiters are lobbying against an increase to $14 an hour for minimum wage. The current minimum wage has been frozen for several years and puts workers 19% below the poverty line.

When we arrived we lined uop the sidewalk with placrds and such and handed out info engaging people, and aside from a few a people most people were very receptive. We will join PMUS and others demanding this increase, which will put workers above the poverty line by 10%.

For more info please check out http://www.raisetheminimumwage.ca

4 Responses to “Rally for an increase in minimum wage was a success!!!!”

  1. doug August 17, 2013 at 2:51 am #

    What a joke you people are.Unemployed bums protesting minimum wage.lol Why do you care since you don’t work anyways.lol

  2. alan August 18, 2013 at 3:57 pm #

    So other than criticizing what exactly do you do Doug? Are you retired, employed or somewhere in between as I am? Julian serves a social purpose and I’ll admit it was his comments/opinions regarding CAS/FCS that got me doing some research and finding out that he knows what he is talking about.

    • doug August 18, 2013 at 6:54 pm #

      Well lets see…I’m a hard working Canadian TAXPAYER that abides by the laws of the land.I don’t piss and moan about how miserable my life in Canada is and then continue to sponge off the taxpayers rather than get a job and earn my keep!I don’t protest any stupid little thing simply for the sake of getting my mug on the news. I’m not a Commie that thinks Cuba is so great but yet refuse to live there myself. I’m exercising my right to criticize just like Julian.Hows that for an answer?

  3. alan August 18, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

    CAS/FCS is no little thing. Neither are minimum wages if you’re trying to live on them. Julian’s comments on police brutality also seem fairly prescient when you read about the history of police murders of mostly unarmed , disturbed minorities in Toronto. Look a little deeper Doug than Julian’s love affair with Fidel. Hell even our former Prime Minister (Trudeau) was an admirer of Fidel although I grant you I found that a little strange.

Leave a Reply

