Letter to my mom

4 Sep

Hey mom
its been four years since you left, and despite how long ago it was i still think a lot about you. I want you to know that I am doing well, or as well as can be expected of me. Since you left a lot has changed, my original charges were dropped, i got new ones, which i later beat. It was strange going through all of that without you, and many times during court and such I would think of comments you would make, or the support you would give me and your general disdain of bureaucracy and protocol.

Dad is doing ok, or as good as he can be doing, he writes poetry every morning then yells at me to translate, convinced that there is some conspiracy of the computer to ruin his creativity. We spend a lot more time together and whenever i am gone he misses me because he has no one else to yell and complain to.

I did finally go to Belfast and the rest of Ireland, it was amazing but would have been nicer if you were there. I remember stores that you told me, and when walking through the ardoyne I saw a mural of our lady of Medjugorge, what a coincidence. I remember us going there and despite how little money we had we were happy, praying the rosary and walking up the hill doing the stations of the cross. I said a prayer quietly thinking about you.

I started to write again, which was something that you always encouraged me to do, and some people actually like what i write. Somethimes i think of writing real stories and saying that they are fiction because some of the stuff we went through and are still going through are pretty unbelievable.

As you probably guess I am still a communist, and still organizing street youth. The spot kids are doing ok and many of them miss you. Poke is in school, and wants to be a marine biologist, a far cry from when you use to bail her out for playing golf on the roof of sobeys, and being arrested for being out past curfew because she had no place. C. has a baby and she is two, moonie is now in school and all of the rest are doing well.

In terms of my personal life its a mess as always, a cop or a nazi or some other fuck always ruining my day, but I am surrounded by people who love me and want whats best for me even if they are wrong.

I miss you and want you to know that not a day goes by when i don’t think of you and whenever i look up at the moon and the stars i know you are up there with a smirk watching out for your beloved son.

Love you forever
Uli

One Response to “Letter to my mom”

  1. dumitruichim September 5, 2014 at 1:21 am #

    a very touching story, iulică!

Leave a Reply

